My Internship: Virtual Work Life

With my internship at Bricktop Custom Apparel and Design I do the majority of the work at home. I meet up with my supervisor once a week at the office to go over new projects and possibly learn new techniques and skills to help me with some of the designs that I will be working on.

IMG_2550IMG_2551

While working from home there are two places I usually work from: my desk or my bed. I like the flexibility of being able to choose where I am able to do my work, it allows for me to keep distractions at bay. While working I usually keep post-its of important information on my laptop where I can always see it and refer back to it.

Working from home also allows for more freedom of when I start working. I could start at 9 in the morning or 11 in the morning if I wanted to. This helps me focus better on my work by starting when I choose to. Although one of the downsides of working from home is that I don’t have anyone sitting next to me to bounce ideas off of while I’m working. Sure I can text or email my ideas to my supervisor, but it’s a lot easier to throw out ideas and get feedback in person. My supervisor is usually quick to reply so that makes working from home a lot easier as well.

 

Leave a Reply

