Capstone Conversations

Over the past week, I had several conversations with different people about my plan for my capstone project. I started off these conversations with the overall theme of the capstone class, disrupt, and my feelings towards the theme. I then talked about my abstract and my reasoning behind it.

Mom and Dad

The conversation I had with my parents came to be while I was creating prototypes for some of the deliverables of my project. They were curious as to what I was doing and why I was doing it. After explaining what I was doing and why my parents started asking questions and voicing their concerns.

My mom’s main concern was the fact that this project was based around my anxiety and that she thought that I might be sharing too much information about myself. I don’t think this is something that I need to be concerned about; I’m not delving too deep into the details of my anxiety. I’m more focused on how I deal with it. My dad was concerned about the overall construction of my project. I’m not 100% sure of this at the moment, but he offered to help me out with whatever I end up doing. Both of my parents were concerned about if I was going to have enough time to do what I wanted to do. They know I get stressed easily and they didn’t want me to take on something that would make me stressed to the point where not only was my mental health at risk but also my physical. They know that when I get really stressed I tend to hyper-focus on whatever I need to get done and things like eating and drinking get pushed to the back burner. They just don’t want that to happen while I’m focusing on this project.

Both of my parents were concerned about if I was going to have enough time to do what I wanted to do. They know I get stressed easily and they didn’t want me to take on something that would make me stressed to the point where not only was my mental health at risk but also my physical. They know that when I get really stressed I tend to hyper-focus on whatever I need to get done and things like eating and drinking get pushed to the back burner. They just don’t want that to happen while I’m focusing on this project.

Sabryn, Kaydee, and Mrs. Tina

When I talked to them about my project I tried to explain my plans as simply as possible because I have a tendency to ramble to make sure that I cover everything that I need and want to say. By doing this I realized that sometimes I can’t articulate what I want to say very well, but by trying to explain what my project was about allowed me to simplify my explanation.

In the end, they all thought that what I was trying to do and explain made sense. They understood where I was coming from. They thought that the explanations of the decisions that I made while prototyping were strong and helped to tie back into my anxiety and how I cope. They also liked the fact that I was showing this different side to anxiety and mental illness. They think that a lot of the time what they see tends to be dark and focuses on the negatives, but they like the fact that I’m expressing my anxiety in a more positive way.

Mr. Adam

Adam Mizell is a graphic designer and he was my internship supervisor. I decided to have a conversation about my capstone project because I trust his opinion and I knew that he would ask me questions that really made me think about my project. One of his main concerns was how well the fact that my project was actually a look into my anxiety and coping methods would come across. He made me think about whether or not I want the idea behind my design to be obvious. He also asked me questions about the construction of my project. Should I have the origami all fall at the same height? Should I make it fall at different heights? What will that decision say about my anxiety? Does having everything at the same height represent how I cope? That I need to have

He also asked me questions about the construction of my project. Should I have the origami all fall at the same height? Should I make it fall at different heights? What will that decision say about my anxiety? Does having everything at the same height represent how I cope? That I need to have order so that I can calm my thoughts down and focus on one thing. Or does having it fall at different heights represent the chaos in my head when my anxiety becomes too much? He also reminded me that color can really help express my ideas or my anxiety. If I pick the right color pallet I can express my anxiety through that.

Breanna

Breanna is one of my best friends that totally understands what I go through in terms of my anxiety. She, just like me, also has anxiety and her own ways to cope with it. Because she was the last person I talked to I was able to explain my idea a bit more clearly. She said that she understood what I was going for. She likes that I’m making this personal because mental illness is a personal thing, it is different for everyone. She likes that I’m not generalizing symptoms or feelings; that I’m sticking to what I know through personal experience. She did say that I could possibly try to make the reasoning behind my design choices more apparent, let it be known that I didn’t just do something because I thought it looked pretty.

 

 

Leave a Reply

