Enoch Pratt Library Visit

I had never been to the Enoch Pratt Library before, so I had no idea what to expect. I was trying to go in with an open mind and not my experiences at other libraries influence what I was about to see.

IMG_0990    FullSizeRender    IMG_0991

When we walked into the library I was shocked to see just how big it actually was. There is a huge lobby the highlighted just how big the space is. It was all a little overwhelming to me. While walking through the library I noticed a theme within the design: neutral colors and ornate details.

When we ventured downstairs to the children’s section there was a lot more color. It felt fun, but at the same time it felt like a perfect place for children to read and learn. I think this had a lot to do with the mixing of kid friendly elements like the fountain with fish, and the day and night rooms with the neutral colors and ornate details.

FullSizeRender-2 IMG_0997

FullSizeRender-1

We went to the library to see what we would be designing for and take note to hopefully inspire us. To be honest I left the library even more confused about what to design. I don’t know if I should just continue on with designing something solely based on the children’s book that I chose or if I should try to incorporate details of the library into the design as well.

Leave a comment